The Treaty of Paris

On 3 September 1783, delegates from the United States of America and Great Britain signed the Treaty of Paris, officially ending the American Revolutionary War. Artist Benjamin West planned to complete a painting of the historic moment, but the British delegation refused to pose, so that gives you an idea of how bitter they were about all this.

The treaty ceded all 13 original colonies to the new United States, released all prisoners of war, and granted fishing rights in the Grand Banks and Gulf of Saint Lawrence. Britain also used to occasion to sign separate agreements with France, Spain, and the Netherlands. The territories of East and West Florida were handed over to Spain, along with the island of Minorca. France got Tobago and Senegal as well as guaranteed fishing rights off the coast of Newfoundland. Dutch possessions in the East Indies, which were captured in 1781, were returned in exchange for trading privileges.

The treaty was ratified by the American Congress of the Confederation on 14 January 1784, and the British followed suit on 9 April. Ratified versions were then exchanged in Paris on 12 May

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.